Home » about wimbledon

Wimbledon Legends

submit to reddit

It is often said of the world’s best tennis players that you cannot be considered great until you have won the Wimbledon Championship. Because of this, each era’s best players have given their all to try to win the crown at Wimbledon. Although many have succeeded, the truly legendary Wimbledon players are those who have managed to triumph multiple times.

For many of the local British fans, one of the true legends of the game is Fred Perry, who was able to win the men’s singles event three times consecutively between 1934 and 1936. Since then, despite the best efforts of many generations of players, no British man has been able to be crowned as Wimbledon Champion.

During the late 1970’s, one man dominated Wimbledon – Bjorn Borg. The Swedish phenomenon won five of the championships back-to-back between 1976 and 1980, thereby cementing his place in tennis history despite only having a relatively short career. His dominance at Wimbledon was then broken by the fiery American player John McEnroe, who delighted fans with his great tennis playing and angry outbursts in equal measure on his way to winning three Wimbledon titles.

Proving that you don’t have to win Wimbledon to cement your legacy; in 1985 a 17-year-old German player called Boris Becker leapt to the forefront of the tennis world after winning the first of his three Wimbledon titles. In the modern era, no player is more revered than Pete Sampras, who won seven titles in eight years between 1993 and 2000.

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar .